Kamut and gluten: let's be clear

What most people know is that kamut is the kamut flour, which is now much talked about, otherwise known as khorasan wheat flour, it lends itself to the preparation of many recipes.

With this flour it is possible to make crepes, pasta, pizza, bread, cakes and much more; instead, the kamut grain is used to enrich soups, broths or salads.

There are also many products that can be seen on the shelves of shops and supermarkets where the word "kamut" appears: breadsticks, biscuits, wraps, savory pies, breakfast cereals, bread, pizzas, focaccia, biscuits and much more.

But perhaps few know that kamut it is not the real name of a type of grain, it is in fact a registered trademark of the American company Kamut International Ltd, in his time in Montana by Dr. Bob Quinn.

The well-known plant pathologist decided in the 70s to call Kamut, or rather Kamut®, a variety of durum wheat, otherwise known as Triticum turgidum turanicum, which is a wheat of Middle Eastern origin belonging to the Graminaceae family, also known as red wheat or Khorasan wheat, the region of Iran where it comes from and where it is still produced today.


Celiac disease and kamut

Kamut wheat contains a fair amount of protein, about 40% more than normal wheat; is rich in selenium, which makes it a good antioxidant, zinc, and magnesium Vitamin E.

Containing a high percentage of lipids, kamut flour is very energetic, suitable for the elderly, children or sportsmen. But beware: kamut flour, the kamut itself and its derivatives they are not suitable for celiac sufferers as they contain gluten, just over 15% of dry gluten, often even in greater quantities than normal wheat.

Kamut is therefore not recommended as an ingredient in the diet of celiacs, although sometimes certain advertising seems to allude to the contrary.

Basically, kamut is a cereal digestible, more digestible of other types of wheat subjected to chemical processes of refining or genetic improvement; it's more nutritious and suitable for those suffering from digestive disorders. A healthy product, therefore, not suitable for those suffering from celiac disease, not very ecological, since it is necessary to import it from the United States, and rather expensive: a kilo can be paid up to 4 euros.


Fun facts about kamut

The name kamut derives from ka'moet which, in the Egyptian language means "soul of the earth".

Kamut is rarely cultivated in Europe: it is found mainly in some small farms, but its very expensive production discourages producers. In the country it is imported only by authorized companies and can only be ground by authorized mills.


If you don't suffer from celiac disease, here's how to make a salad with wholemeal kamut


add a comment of Kamut and gluten: let's be clear
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.