Do oats contain gluten?

Who I am
Robert Maurer
@robertmaurer
SOURCES CONSULTED:

wikipedia.org

Author and references

As we often read in specialized magazines and online, the oats issue has long been debated.


Until recently it was not present on the celiac table because it was thought that although it contained a low percentage of glutamine (less than 30%) and proline (less than 5%), it could still be harmful to your body.

As confirmed by one of the most accredited sites on the subject, namely the AIC, Association of the Celiac country, "most celiacs can include oats in their diet without adverse health effects. (...) The Scientific Board of AIC, therefore, suggests the consumption of oats only for those products based on or containing oats present in the National Register of gluten-free products of the Ministry of Health, which guarantees the suitability of the oats used ".


It is therefore an issue that is still the subject of studies and research by the international scientific community, studies which concern in particular the specifications variety of oats more suitable for celiacs.

Furthermore, it has been found that such oat-based products are best administered to those patients who are not serious or in remission.

 

The origin of oats and the recommended quantities for celiacs

The oats that are consumed, like other gluten-free cereals, must have a well-certified and attested production history: in fact only one absolutely scrupulous production chain in each ring can ensure the availability of oats without traces of gluten


For those who are celiac and want to safely consume oat-based foods, however recommended to make the diet complete, it is necessary to pay attention to origin of the cereal, since the one on the market may have suffered contamination with other cereals containing gluten or during cultivation, or during transport. 


According to the most recent studies, therefore, the amount of uncontaminated oats that a celiac organism can tolerate is, on average, of 50 grams without any disturbance.

 

Gluten-free cereals: what are they?

 

Good and versatile like oats

Oats, for a long time excluded and pocketed cereal, which was rarely found in the dishes of the el paeseni, is now experiencing a peak of popularity, thanks to the remarkable nutritional properties, the ease of purchase and the versatility of this product.

It can be consumed both in flakes, and in whole grains, both for breakfast and for imaginative hot and cold recipes. From porridge to creams to vegetarian salads, its flavorful grains are also perfect for soups, risottos or meatballs.


Oats are often used, especially in vegan and vegetarian kitchens, to compact doughs that are too soft - in this case, wholemeal oat flakes can be chopped with a blender -, for meatballs, savory pies and gratinated vegetables. It also makes bread, biscuits, cakes and baked goods tastier, even using their flour.

Oats are good for you because they are rich in vitamins of group B, zinc, iron, magnesium, proteins and polyunsaturated fatty acids. The amount of fiber it contains makes it ideal for low-calorie diets, but also for those with digestive problems or for those who need to regularize the intestine.


Energy food, perfect for athletes, oats are also ideal for those who have to lower the level of cholesterol in the blood.

 

Find out how to make porridge

 

To learn more:

> Association of the Celiac Country

 

 

Audio Video Do oats contain gluten?
add a comment of Do oats contain gluten?
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.