Cheeses with and without animal rennet

Cheeses with and without animal rennet

Il cheese, according to the law and according to what is reported in the volume "The green spoon" (Giunti, 2007), is a product that is derived from whole milk, partially or totally skimmed, or from milk cream, following acid or rennet coagulation. In rennet coagulation it is used rennet almost always of animal origin, consisting of a enzyme extracted from the stomach of suckling mammals.

If the coagulation of the cheese is completely sour, a acid substance which serves to supplement the lactic acid formed by the action of bacteria already contained in the milk or specially added by means of a graft.

Thus was born one of the main subdivisions of the types of cheeses. In addition to the categories of fresh cheeses and aged cheeses, it is necessary to distinguish between cheeses obtained with animal rennet and cheeses prepared using microbial rennet. In some cases we resort to vegetable rennet.

Knowing the type of rennet used for the preparation of cheeses can be important for Vegetarians who want to avoid animal rennet and for those who suffer from intolerances to dairy products, which could be exacerbated by the presence of animal rennet inside them.

READ also: Vegetarians beware! 7 common foods where animal fats hide ...

According to the list reported by the website Vegetarian your country, all contain animal rennet DOP and IGP cheeses and the French equivalents AOC and Label Rouge. As for cheeses, your country, behind the wording natural rennet the use of rennet of animal origin may be hidden. For this reason it is important to contact the manufacturing companies to know exactly the type of rennet used in making cheeses.

DOP cheeses

The list of PDO cheeses (Protected Designation of Origin) your country includes:

Grana Padano
Mozzarella di Bufala Campana
Pecorino your city
Sardinian pecorino
Take Piemontese

Consult thecomplete list of DOP cheeses.

TSG and PGI cheeses

Among the cheeses your country TSG (Guaranteed Traditional Specialty) is included the mozzarella cheese. Mozzarella can be prepared with animal rennet or with microbial rennet. To find out exactly it is necessary to contact the manufacturers.

Among the IGP cheeses (Protected Geographical Indication) we find the basket maker of Molitemo. IGP cheeses contain animal rennet.

The website of the Ministry of Agricultural, Food and Forestry Policies reports the updated list of all TSG, PGI and DOC products your country, including cheeses.

AOC French cheeses

French AOC cheeses (Appellation d'origine contrôlée) contain animal rennet and include products derived from cow milk, Including:

Camembert de Normandy
Epoisse de Bourgogne
Fourme d'Ambert

Consult online thelist of French AOC cow's milk cheeses.

Among the French AOC cheeses obtained from goat or sheep milk They are:

Well no
Brocciu ran
Chabichou from Poitou

The list of French AOC cheeses made from goat, sheep and cow's milk continues here .

Cheeses without animal rennet

The question of cheeses without animal rennet is more complex. Some conventional cheeses may contain both animal rennet and microbial rennet, but their packaging usually bears the unique wording of "rennet". Among the cheeses that do not contain animal rennet, for the type of their processing, the mascarpone cheese and ricotta cheese. Some organic cheeses they are produced without animal rennet and this is usually stated on the package.

We therefore recommend a careful reading of the labels. There is one online list di French cheeses without animal rennet it's a list of dairies that produce cheese only with vegetable rennet. Finally, you can consult one on the web list cheeses without animal rennet on sale in supermarkets your country, with indication of the relative brands.


READ also:

7 ingredients of animal origin that are hidden in common products

add a comment of Cheeses with and without animal rennet
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.

End of content

No more pages to load